

Biometrics Special Interest Group 🐠 📙 📙

in cooperation with













Call for Papers

BIOSIG 2016

15th International Conference of the Biometrics Special Interest Group

21.-23.09.2016, Darmstadt

http://www.biosig.de/biosig2016

Biometrics provides efficient and reliable solutions to recognize individuals. With increasing number of identity theft and miss-use incidents we do observe a significant fraud in e-commerce and thus growing interests on trustworthiness of person authentication. Nowadays we find biometric applications in areas like border control, national ID cards, e-banking, e-commerce, e-health etc. Large-scale applications such as the European Union Smart-Border Concept, the Visa Information System (VIS) and Unique Identification (UID) in India require high accuracy and also reliability, interoperability, scalability and usability. Many of these are joint requirements also for forensic applications.

Multimodal biometrics combined with fusion techniques can improve recognition performance. Efficient searching or indexing methods can accelerate identification efficiency. Additionally, quality of captured biometric samples can strongly influence the performance. Moreover, mobile biometrics is an emerging area and biometrics based smartphones can support deployment and acceptance of biometric systems.

However, concerns about security and privacy cannot be neglected. The relevant techniques in the area of presentation attack detection (liveness detection) and template protection are about to supplement biometric systems, in order to improve fake resistance, prevent potential attacks such as cross matching, identity theft etc.

The BIOSIG 2016 conference addresses these issues and will present innovations and best practices that can be transferred into future applications. The conference is jointly organized by the Competence Center for Applied Security Technology (CAST), the German Federal Office for Information Security (BSI), the European Association for Biometrics (EAB), the ICT COST

Action IC1106, the Joint Research Centre of the European Commission (JRC), the TeleTrusT-Association, the Norwegian Biometrics Laboratory (NBL), the Center for Advanced Security Research Darmstadt (CASED), the Fraunhofer Institute for Computer Graphics Research IGD, IET Biometrics Journal and the special interest group BIOSIG of the Gesellschaft für Informatik e.V. (GI). The conference will be technically co-sponsored by IEEE and papers will be added to IEEE Xplore.

We invite stakeholders and technical experts to submit original research papers. Industrial contributions presenting lessons learnt from practical usage, case study, recent results of prototypes, are also welcomed. Submissions should be full papers (max. 12 pages) in English. Each paper will be subjected of a double blind peer review. Authors should upload their submission at:

https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=biosig2016 and use the GI format for which templates are available at: http://fg-biosig.gi.de/biosig-2016/paper-submission.html Note that those contributions, which will be accepted as poster presentation, will be limited to 8 pages.

Important Dates

14.06.2016	Deadline for submissions
15.07.2016	Notification of authors via e-mail
15.08.2016	Deadline for final papers (ready for press)
19./20.09.2016	EAB-Research Project Conference
21.09.2016	Satellite Workshop TTT Working Group
21.09.2016	EAB European Research and Industry Award
22./23.09.2016	Main Conference: Talks and Presentations
23.09.2016	BIOSIG Best Paper Award

Invited Talks

Richard Rinkens. EC DG Home:

"How the Entry Exit System will impact Schengen"

Arun Ross, Michigan State University, U.S.:

"Biometrics and De-Identification"

Davide Maltoni, Università di Bologna, Italy:

"Fingerprint Indexing"

T.B.A.

Special Interest Group BIOSIG

The BIOSIG Group is dedicated to the foundations of biometrics. Its objective is to to link practical experience with academic innovations. Thus the Special Interest Group BIOSIG together with its co-organizers is providing with its annual conference a suitable platform to work on these issues.

Topics of Interest

Topics of the conference include but are not limited to: Biometric standards and interoperability, multimodal and multibiometrics, security analysis of biometric components or systems, on-card comparison, fake resistance, liveness detection, aging of reference data, template protection, de-identification, user interface design for biometric systems, biometric performance measurement, sample quality, best practices, usability, continuous authentication, forensics and other emerging applications, ethical, legal and socio-technological aspects, biometrics for public administrations.

Organizing Committee

General Chair: Christoph Busch

Program Chairs: Arslan Brömme, Christian Rathgeb, Andreas Uhl

Publication Chair: Arslan Brömme Publicity Chair: Victor Philip Busch

Local Chairs: Alexander Nouak, Claudia Prediger

Program Committee

Harald Baier (CASED, DE) Oliver Bausinger (BSL DE) Thirimachos Bourlai (WVU, US) Patrick Bours (GUC, NO) Sebastien Brangoulo (Morpho, FR) Andreas Braun (FHG IGD, DE) Ralph Breithaupt (BSI, DE) Julien Bringer (Morpho, FR) Arslan Brömme (GI/BIOSIG, DE) Christoph Busch (CAST-Forum, DE) Victor-Philipp Busch (Sybuca, DE) Patrizio Campisi (Uni Roma 3, IT) Nathan Clarke (CSCAN, UK) Adam Czajka (NASK, PL) Farzin Derayi (UKE, UK) Martin Drahansky (BUT, CZ) Andrzej Drygajlo (EPFL, CH) James Ferryman (UR. UK) Julian Fierrez (UAM, ES) Simone Fischer-Hübner (KAU, SE) Lothar Fritsch (NR, NO) Steven Furnell (CSCAN, UK Sonia Garcia (TSP, FR) Marta Gomez-Barrero (UAM, ES) Patrick Grother (NIST, US) Olaf Henniger (FHG IGD, DE) Heinz Hofbauer (COSY, AT) Detlef Hühnlein (ecsec, DE) Christiane Kaplan (softpro, DE) Stefan Katzenbeisser (CASED, DE)

Tom Kevenaar (GenKey, NL) Ulrike Korte (BSL DF) Aiay Kumar (Poly, HK) Herbert Leitold (a-sit, AT) Guogiang Li (GUC, NO) Stan Li (CBSR, CN) Paulo Lobato Correira (IST. PT) Davide Maltoni (UBO, IT) Johannes Merkle (secunet, DE) Didier Meuwly (NFL NL) Emilio Mordini (CSSC, IT Kamal Nasrollahi (AAU, DK) Elaine Newton (NIST, US) Mark Nixon (UoS, UK) Alexander Nouak (Fraunhofer, DE) Markus Nuppeney (BSI, DE) Hisao Ogata (Hitachi, JP) Martin Olsen (GUC, NO) Javier Ortega-Garcia (UAM, ES) Michael Peirce (Daon, IR) Dijana Petrovska (TSP, FR) Anika Pflug (CASED, DE) Ioannis Pitas (AUT, GR) Fernando Podio (NIST, US) Kiran Raja (GUC. NO) Raghu Ramachandra (GUC, NO) Kai Rannenberg (Uni FFM, DE) Christian Ratheeb (CASED, DE) Arun Ross (MSU, US) Heiko Roßnagel (Fhg IAO, DE)

Raul Sanchez-Reillo (UC3M, ES) Stephanie Schuckers (ClU, US) Günter Schumacher (JRC, IT) Takashi Shinzaki (Fujitsu, JP) Max Sniider (EAB, NL) Luis Soares (ISCTE-IUL, PT) Luuk Spreeuwers (UTW, NL) Syed Z. Syed Idrus (iKOM, MY) Elham Tabassi (NIST, US) Tieniu Tan (NLPR, CN) Massimo Tistarelli (UNISS, IT Dimitrios Tzovaras (CfRaT, GR) Andreas Uhl (COSY, AT) Markus Ullmann (BSI, DE) Raymond Veldhuis (UTW. NL) Anne Wang (Cogent, US) Jim Wayman (SJSU, US) Peter Wild (AIT, AT) Andreas Wolf (BDR, DE) Bian Yang (GUC, NO)